













The Future of Law and Neuroscience

Friday, April 26, 2013 (for those who arrive in time):

5:00 p.m. Reception (Conrad Chicago Hotel, 6th floor)

Saturday, April 27, 2013:

7:30 -	8:30 am	Breakfast Available
1.00	U.SU uiii	Di cuisiast i i i anabic

8:30 am Welcome and Introduction

Ms. Julia Stasch, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

Ms. Laurel Bellows, President, American Bar Association

Dr. Francis X. Shen, MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Law

and Neuroscience

8:50 am Opening Remarks

Congressman Chaka Fattah, 2nd District of Pennsylvania

9:00 – 10:15 am Session 1: Brain Basics: Neuroscience and Neuroimaging for Lawyers

Dr. Geoff Aguirre, University of Pennsylvania

10:15 – 10:30 am Break

10:30 – 11:30 am Session 2: Neuroscience and Juvenile Justice

Moderator: Prof. Christopher Slobogin

Panelists: Dr. BJ Casey, Prof. David Faigman, Dr. Stephen J. Morse

11:30 – 12:00 pm Discussion & Audience Questions

12:00 – 1:00 pm Lunch

1:00 – 2:00 Session 3: Decision Making

Moderator: Honorable Andre Davis

Panelists: Dr. Eric Drogin, Prof. Owen Jones and Dr. Elizabeth Phelps

2:00 – 2:30 pm Discussion & Audience Questions

2:30 – 3:00 pm Break

3:00 – 4:00 pm Session 4: Neuroscience in the Courtroom

Moderator: Dr. Judith Edersheim

Panelists: Prof. Nita Farahany and Prof. Hank Greely

4:00 – 4:45 pm Final Discussion & Audience Questions

Speaker: Honorable Jed Rakoff

4:45 – 5:00 pm Closing Remarks

5:00 – 6:30 pm Reception (Chicago Conrad Hotel)

7:00 pm Dinner (off site: at Phil Stefani's 437 Rush; 437 N. Rush St.)

Notes:

The official program will start at 8:30 am and end at 5:30 pm, on Saturday, April 27, 2013. The day will feature four panels on law and neuroscience, with an opportunity for audience questions.

Confirmed participants include:

- Dr. Geoff Aguirre, Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, University of Pennsylvania
- **Dr. BJ Casey**, Sackler Professor for Developmental Psychobiology, Weill Cornell Medical College, Cornell University
- Hon. Andre Davis, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
- **Dr. Eric Drogin**, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School; Clinical Instructor in Psychology, Member, Program in Psychiatry and the Law, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Faculty Member, Harvard Longwood Psychiatry Residency Training Program
- **Dr. Judith G. Edersheim**, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School; senior consultant to the Law and Psychiatry Service, Massachusetts General Hospital; Co-Director of the Center for Law, Brain and Behavior, Massachusetts General Hospital
- Prof. David Faigman, John F. Digardi Distinguished Professor of Law, Director of the UCSF/UC Hastings Consortium on Law, Science & Health Policy University of California, Hastings College of the Law

- **Dr. Nita Farahany**, Professor of Law, Professor of Genome Sciences & Policy, Duke University
- **Prof. Hank Greely,** Deane F. and Kate Edelman Johnson Professor of Law, Stanford Law School; Director, Center for Law and the Biosciences; Professor (by courtesy) of Genetics, Stanford School of Medicine; Chair, Steering Committee of the Center for Biomedical Ethics; and Director, Stanford Interdisciplinary Group on Neuroscience and Society.
- **Prof. Owen Jones**, New York Alumni Chancellor's Professor of Law & Professor of Biological Sciences, Vanderbilt University; Director, MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Law and Neuroscience
- **Dr. Stephen J. Morse**, Ferdinand Wakeman Hubbell Professor of Law; Professor of Psychology and Law in Psychiatry, University of Pennsylvania
- **Dr. Elizabeth Phelps**, Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology and Center for Neural Science, New York University
- Hon. Jed Rakoff, United States District Court Judge for the Southern District of New York
- **Dr. Francis Shen**, Associate Professor, University of Minnesota Law School; Executive Director of Education & Outreach for the MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Law and Neuroscience
- **Prof. Christopher Slobogin**, Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law, Professor of Psychiatry; Director, Criminal Justice Program, Vanderbilt University Law School